college

Don’t Mock Students Who Go to Community College

So, today I was sitting in my advisor/supervisor’s office (I’m a work study under her), she asked me what my major was, if I was Administrative Office Technology, Medical Information Technology your because of a scholarship I was hoping to gain for the summer course I really needed to take. In order for me to get that scholarship, I needed to get another class on my summer schedule. Thus, my revelation. 

So, on top of me graduating with an Associate’s degree in Medical Administration, I’ll also be receiving an Associate’s in Medical Office Management AND Administration. On top of alllllll of that, I’ll be receiving four different diplomas and seven certificates, including one that is for workplace safety. 

My point in all of this is that I have worked really hard to get to where I am academically. I haven’t slacked for one second. Even if my hardest work was in a community college, it doesn’t erase the fact that I’ve worked. I’ve done everything I was supposed to do to get my life together. And, for the most part, I have.

Don’t look down on community college students just because they aren’t going to some big four-year university. There’s actually a lot of benefits to going to community college. My favorite part is that it is not only inexpensive (my community college has the least expensive tuition of any college in the state), but it also places you in a job. It gives you the opportunity in your final semester to intern at a job in your chosen industry. Plus, you only spend a couple of years to get that degree, so you can move on with your  life much quicker.

And, honestly? It’s just easier to ge an education this way than any other way. If it works for hundreds of thousands of students, how can it be wrong? How can an education that can help you get a job in industrial safety in two years be more wrong than an education at a four-year institute where you’d get a job in child psychology? I don’t think it is, and a lot of other people agree with me. Both are nobble causes. Both are noble and necessary professions.

Community college is much more than just “junior college” or a gateway to the university. I’m choosing to not even pursue an education at a university because it would save me a lot of money in the long run. Plus, I’d have a job that would pay decently and allow me an opportunity to move up in position.

People need to understand that community college is just as good. I’m graduating a year earlier than I would have otherwise. Consider a community college when you get to that time in your life to choose a college.

Leave a Reply

